top of page
mnsnibson01

Artificial Intelligence – How It Is Transforming Your Grocery Shopping!

By Martyn Snibson


To achieve the objective of creating an insightful, informative video, I intended to have my topic coincide with a subject that I was interested in and relevant to something that has made an impact on my day-to-day life and I have come to encounter. This is how I decided upon researching Artificial Intelligence in the supermarket retail industry, in which I am employed part-time. In other words, I wanted to include messages and meanings within the video to show how Artificial Intelligence is leading to a more progressive society economically and mention the controversy and negative impacts it is having.



How artificial intelligence has transformed the business world allowing companies to make smart, calculated decisions and actions while reducing their operating costs using @IBMWatson #ALM102 https://t.co/9SkQJ99E3e — Martyn Snibson (@SnibDubTv) August 24, 2021

Personally, as a consumer of media, I learn and enjoy how Informative videos are produced and how they can keep an audience engaged, particularly from YouTube channels such as ‘CNBC’, and ‘Company Man’. So coincidentally, I based my video solely on telling a story while informing an audience.

(Appendix 1) Creative mindmap

During the planning process, I began by creating a mindmap (Appendix 1) of ways Artificial Intelligence is used in Supermarket retail with assistance from Google Scholarly Articles and news sources to support my argument. With these ideas and concepts, I converted the information into a script form that I could then record on Adobe Audition as a voiceover before editing it with Adobe Premiere Pro. I completed the audio process in an external program Adobe Audition, due to the enhanced ability to make adjustments to the overall quality of the sound using effects such as limiters and compressors (Appendix 2). This was to create a consistent performance, so the decibel level maintains a particular threshold when you hear the spoken dialogue.

(Appendix 2) Compressor Being Used In Adobe Audition

When I was researching photo and video foley, I had to ensure that it had the appropriate licensing and permissions, such as Creative Commons. Additionally, I focused on selecting material that complimented the word choices and phrasing that I was using. For example, when I said, “let’s go back to 2008”, I selected footage of a clock symbolic of ‘a moment in time’. When selecting music, I used the advanced search feature on SoundCloud to find creative commons music that I could ‘modify commercially’. I ended up choosing music that was upbeat to maintain an exciting sensation throughout the video.

In producing this video, It did come with some valuable learning lessons and challenges. These challenges mainly were specific to sourcing relevant stock material that was creative commons licensed, showing visuals of Artificial Intelligence being used in a Supermarket setting. This is where text on screen was critically important because it allowed an audience to be guided in how the video is meant to be interpreted, even if the visuals didn’t completely match the spoken dialogue. On the contrary, the use of text from another perspective can also improve audience engagement with the likelihood that they watch the video for a longer time period rather than tuning out. Not everyone interprets information well audibly, so well-considered visuals like text allow for better suitability to a broader audience demographic.

(Appendix 3) File Organisation

A learning experience that I also encountered was the practical implementation of organisation, where files are selectively organised into specific folders to make it easier to access while editing (Appendix 3). This learning experience was inspired by Dylan Hornsby’s (2018) video, which included editing tips for making videos.

Overall, I enjoyed and learned a lot when doing this practical project while solving problems and actively engaging in refining my skills when it comes to copyright and licensing.

Stock Material Used:

Music:

References:

Walton C (2020), ‘Aldi Is Wise To Invest In Amazon Go Style Checkout-Free Technology’, Forbes, New York, Accessed 30 August 2021.

Tindale A (2021), Inside Woolworths $100million warehouse that’s bigger than the MCG, staffed by robots and set to make 50,000 deliveries a week – with Woolies saying it will create 690 ‘human’ jobs, Daily Mail Australia, Sydney, Accessed 25 August 2021.

Mavani, N. R., Ali, J. M., Othman, S., Hussain, M. A., Hashim, H., & Rahman, N. A. (2021), Application of Artificial Intelligence in Food Industry—a Guideline, Springer US, doi: 10.1007/s12393-021-09290-z

All material is created by myself unless stated.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page