top of page
mnsnibson01

How Artificial Intelligence Is Transforming The Sport Of Basketball


Throughout my video I wanted to convey how Artificial Intelligence is transforming the sport of Basketball, both now and into the future. To achieve this, I explored both its benefits and limitations. To differentiate this from my previous two video projects, I intended to challenge myself by emulating a talk show style format to get the information to my audience. I took on the risk of using editing and scriptwriting skills to have the video, including myself on the frame twice as though two people were making conversation.

Studio Production Plan (Appendix 1)

During the pre-production planning process, it was essential to ensure that I covered a satisfactory standard of information while keeping the video to a 6-8 minute time length. To ensure that I captured enough video and audio coverage for a good post-production edit, I came up with a production plan (Appendix 1). I did this by marking out the camera, sound and lighting. I used a variety of camera shots, including mid and close-up shots, allowing me to have backup shots from other camera angles that I could still use if I experienced a filming error. To create an engaging visual composition, I used the rule of thirds as a guideline, especially for my two closer shots where the talent had their own individual frame.

To engage my audience, the look and feel that I tried to get across in my video was based on the theme of Hollywood with the use of American-style jazz band music. This then helped build excitement as though the music was being performed live on set. I also used a computer monitor for visual interest to include the show logo. Using various camera shot angles, including overlay footage, helped make the informational video engaging and interesting. For lighting, I used a three-light setup with box lights set up on either side of the set facing into the middle of the shot and a disco light located inside a wooden shelf for set decoration.

To capture a professional-sounding audio track, I used a lapel microphone that I recorded separately on my phone, using my camera audio to match it up with my lapel recording. Though it did take a while to match up the two audio tracks, it created a better audience experience with the audio sounding consistent wherever the speaking talents are on the set at a specified time.

To further extend visual interest, I used overlay footage. I found it challenging to find creative commons content on Artificial Intelligence, particularly in a Basketball sense. I discovered the best way to include this footage was to relate it to the dialogue. Websites like Free Music Archive, Flickr, Pexels were great resources to help me search for creative commons licensed material.

Editing In Adobe Premiere Pro (Appendix 2)

The Adobe Premiere Pro suite was where I completed the editing stage of my video (Appendix 2). To ensure my files were organized, I put all my files into categorized folders with named labels to help me edit as efficiently as possible. I would also match the raw recorded audio with the lapel microphone audio and add any required transitions or effects to give an excellent audio performance.

While creating this informative video, I endured countless lessons and challenges that I managed to overcome. Firstly, there was the challenge of including myself twice in a video frame. I needed to ensure I had enough footage that I could use, so when the two characters were both in the frame, the non-speaking character was doing something to make it look authentic and that there was an interaction between the speakers. During post-production, I realized I didn’t have enough footage of non-speaking characters interacting with the speaker. To resolve this issue, I had to duplicate some of the pre-existing footage in my timeline. However, when it was repeated, I could use Creative commons material to hide this. A lesson that I learned when it came to doing this project was to be more consistent when it comes to camera settings, mainly when recording at different time periods. This includes settings like F-stop, ISO, and Zooming that I found inconsistently changing through the shooting stage. To mitigate this, next time I will look to use a camera logging sheet to track my settings and comments regarding camera take quality.



Artificial Intelligence And Basketball? How Could These Two Things Possibly Come Together? 🏀💁 Find Out October 1st, 2021! Only On SnibDubTV 🎥#ALM102 pic.twitter.com/y944ZufAyA — Martyn Snibson (@SnibDubTv) September 29, 2021

Teaser Video Tweet


Teaser Trailer

References:

Music:

Main Stem by U.S. Army Blues (Public Domain 1.0)

Photos/ Videos:

‘’Person Putting a Bandage’’ By cottonbro (CC0)

‘’James Nunnally 21 Injury Fenerbahçe Men’s Basketball 20180105” By Sakhalinio (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Tima Miroshnichenko – A Doctor Showing An X-ray Image

Kampus Productions – Kids Huddling while on the Field

Articles:

McFarland, A (13 February) 2020, ‘NBA Using Artificial Intelligence highlights’, Unite.AI, Accessed September 20 2021

Woo, M (2018) ‘Artificial Intelligence in NBA Basketball’, Inside Science, vol. 148, pp. 148–162. Accessed September 17 2021

Yang, Z (2020) ‘Research on Basketball Players Training Strategy Based on Artificial Intelligence Technology’, Journal of Physics: Conference Series, IOP Publishing Ltd, doi:10.1088/1742-6596/1648/4/042057

Xu, T & Tang, L (2021) ‘Adoption of Machine Learning Algorithm-Based Intelligent Basketball Training Robot in Athlete Injury Prevention’, Frontiers in Neurorobotics, 14(January):1–9, doi: https://doi.org/10.3389/fnbot.2020.620378

Teaser:

‘’Walk That Dog’’ by U.S. Army Blues (Public Domain 1.0) (Music)

‘’Drone Shot of the Brooklyn Bridge During the Night’’ By CityXcape (CC0)

“Aerial View of New York City at Night’’ By CityXcape (CC0)

Teaser Trailer Graphics Made Using Adobe Premiere Pro’s Essential Graphics Feature Templates.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page