top of page
mnsnibson01

My Online Identity: My Evolution As A Digital Citizen

My evolution of my online identity reflecting on how I previously used social media and in the digital era of 2021.

Introduction

Social media and the convergence of this emerged digital concept of ‘Web 2.0‘ has allowed for the development of ‘digital citizens‘ to create and form intellectual importance of self-identification online (Uğur Gündüz (2017:85-92)). However, as a contributor to this digital society, I feel responsible for how I want to be perceived online. Particularly, with the ability to freely shape identity with the click of a button.

Being a part of the millennial cohort ‘Generation Z‘ (also referred to as ‘zoomers‘), our generation has been at the forefront of this growth of the digital era and the expansion of means to communicate with others in this cybernetic space. My personal usage of social media has changed over time in line with a change in how I wanted to be identified.

Reflecting On My Past And Present Digital Self

“You don’t need a corporation or a marketing company to brand you now: you can do it yourself. You can establish who you are with a social media following.” – Ray Allen (Former Professional Basketball Player)

As with many teenagers, my influence in being introduced to social media was when I began high school to create youtube content aligned with my peers. At that time, I was mostly posting content (subjected to Pokemon Trading Card Game) without a cognitive consideration to copyright, target audience, and professionalism in branding. Furthermore, this differs from now, where I am a lot more aware and strategic in what I post publicly, considering how I am in an age group where future employers and businesses can google search and review your perceived identity and personal qualities online.



In reading David Marshall's (2010:35-48) text, in subject to 'Celebrity Culture'. It was eye-capturing to me the term 'Public private self'. I felt like this related to my online identity as I expose a controlled part of my life that is still considered public. #ALM101 📸 — Martyn Snibson (@SnibDubTv) April 12, 2021

In my continual social media usage, I have intentionally tried to represent a personality to my audiences as conveyed through my content. Aforementioned because it is an internal belief that it helps an audience feel connected as though they can associate and relate to an individual. In a blog by Daniele Tanner (2020), she discusses the idea of investing yourself in becoming a recognized face to your online audience through your digital identity, resulting in validity in your persona and trust from your audience. I attempt to achieve this by selectively revealing small snippets of interests, location, and thoughts to my audience. This relates to David Marshall’s (2010:35-48) term of the ‘public private self‘, where individuals produce an intimate feeling of closeness equating to an audience’s connection to that individual. Furthermore, this also expands on the idea of giving an audience a sense of ‘authenticity‘ to an individual’s social media, implying a person’s realness in the self-presentation they choose to convey through that social platform (Smith and Watson, 2016:70-96).



I'm an active participant on the #Twitch community particularly supporting and engaging with smaller streamers. The communities by which I engage with provide, as well as entertainment, a great way to meet new people, but also support them on growing on the platform. #ALM101 — Martyn Snibson (@SnibDubTv) March 15, 2021

Alike many during the Coronavirus Pandemic, I found myself engaging a lot more with online communities complemented by the emergence of the social interactive platforms Discord and Twitch. These platforms have enabled the ability to interact with other users with the same interests from across the world who support each other through establishing their own engaging communities. In a blog post commenting on the rising popularity of Discord, Emily Lam (2021) explains how Discord drives away from the traditional mean of “followers and likes“. Ultimately, she suggests that they do not matter, leading to how Discord gives people an equal opportunity to feel like their voice has significance and is heeded by others. Estimated data collated by Forbes, Medium and WSJ (as cited in Business of Apps, 2021), suggested that in 2020, Discord saw a $85 Million (USD) increase in revenue. This is compared to $15 Million (USD) in their previous period (2019) inadmissible due to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

Additionally, in streaming my own content, I’ve used Discord to establish my individualized community, attempting to involve others in expressing their thoughts and passions.

Conclusion

In summarizing my development and growing transformation of social identity through social and digital media, I’ve always tried to find that balance of interweaving my ‘private self‘ with my ‘public self‘. And in today’s fundamental nature of “increasing value to produce the self” (Marshall 2010), it is relevant for many social media users and influencers in trying to stand out from the crowd all operating in the same digital space.


Vlog-style Sony ZV-1 camera opening and demo reel

When examining my digital footprint, I have found a shift in how I communicate with others compared to my use initially. The recent pandemic saw people increasingly using digital tools to interact and come together, and in a way, my social identity has shifted similarly. I am now more focused on creating content and using the messages I post to connect with users.

References:

Gündüz, U 2017, ‘The Effect of Social Media on Identity Construction’, Mediterranean Journal of Social Sciences, Istanbul vol. 8, no. 5, pp. 85–92. doi: 10.1515/mjss-2017-0026

Tanner, D 2020, ‘Benefits Of A Strong Personal Brand’, Social Media College, retrieved April 21, 2021

Smith, S and Watson, J 2014, ‘Virtually Me: A Toolbox about Online Self-Presentation’, in Poletti, A and Rak, J (eds.), Identity Technologies: Constructing the Self Online, The University of Wisconsin Press, Madison, pp. 70-95.

Lam, E 2021, ‘The Rise Of Discord: How Discord Has Become Popular Outside Of Gaming’, YOYUFUMEDIA, pp. 68–70, retrieved April 23, 2021

Marshall, PD 2010, ‘The promotion and presentation of the self: Celebrity as marker of presentational media’, Celebrity Studies, vol. 1, no. 1, pp. 35–48. doi: 10.1080/19392390903519057

Curry, P 2021, “Discord Revenue and Usage Statistics (2021)”, Business of Apps, retrieved 22 April 2021

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page