top of page
mnsnibson01

Podcast: How Digital Media Benefits And Limits The Facilitation Of Student Learning And Engagement



In creating this Podcast I aimed to base my subject matter on the discussion surrounding digital media’s ability to facilitate learning and its benefits and limitations. With the Coronavirus Pandemic resorting many students across the world to online learning using digital media and relevant online technologies, it is a good time to analyse both sides of the argument regarding students’ ability to learn and engage in this digital sphere. 

“Education Key” by Got Credit is licensed under CC BY 2.0

In breaking down this topic, I focused my attention on digital media’s educational impacts surrounding student’s cognitive abilities, identity, and school surveillance. I achieved my analysis of the topic by looking into academic scholars using the academic desktop application ‘Mendeley’ to complete my research. This included readings such as S. Gálik’s (2020:101) Journal Article discussing digital media and philosophy relating to students cognitive abilities. I also used K. Davis, A. Ambrose, M. Orand’s (2017:41) Journal Article evaluating digital media and its’ enhancement on giving a student a means of identity when used for education. I also supported my argument by providing personal experiences of how I was introduced and learned to use digital media during my time in school.

The podcasting process was an enjoyable way to express my creative abilities which I believe helped me to learn and feel absorbed in my studies whilst doing an activity that I enjoy. Using Creative Commons attributed music and sound effects sourced from websites like FreeMusicArchive, Looperman, and Freesound, allowed my podcast to have an energetic mood and tone from the introduction through to the outro. It was a challenge to source the correct-sounding music as I was searching with the intention to find a lo-fi, electronic, chill type of sound. This was essential as I wanted to establish the Podcast’s mood but also needed to be aware of the Creative Commons licensing requirements.

To produce my podcast, I used Adobe Audition to perform the recording and post-production phases of my Podcast using a MXL700 condenser microphone to capture a crisp sound signal that could be easily edited through Audition’s spectral frequency display feature. This feature was used to identify and remove sounds like ‘clicks’ and other unwanted sounds that may hinder the listener’s experience of the podcast.

The strategy in producing my podcast was to create a sense of variation in my performance. At first, I was considering adding an additional voice talent to help ask questions and add various comments throughout the podcast. However, I then made the creative decision to use my own voice to play an additional character. Using audio effects such as compression, equalizers, and pitch shifters I made it sound noticeable enough that an audience could identify when a secondary character was speaking. This was a challenge that imposed critical thinking skills, particularly when I was speaking longer sentences as my voice often shifted to my casual speaking voice. This was where I made the decision to break those longer lines into small chunks then edit them together. Another challenge that I encountered was background noise. This was partly due to my computer creating a loud sound which was able to be picked up due to the polar pattern of how my condenser microphone picks up sound. To rectify this issue, I used Audition’s noise print and reduction tool to remove some of those sounds in the lower decibel range.

In my experience of doing this podcast, it was a really enjoyable way to be both engaged in learning about the digital world in which I live, and also be creative in how I could present this work.



It's that time of the year! It #Podcast making time of course! #ALM101 pic.twitter.com/Oa5bLe3OSv — Martyn Snibson (@SnibDubTv) May 21, 2021

References:

Gálik, S (2020), ‘Philosophical Reflection of the Influence of Digital Media on Current Education’, Media Education (Mediaobrazovanie), 60(1),100–106. doi:10.13187/me.2020.1.100

Carr N (2011), ‘The shallows: What the Internet is doing to our brains’, W. W. Norton & Company, New York

Davis, K, Ambrose, A & Orand, M (2017), ‘Identity and Agency in School and Afterschool Settings: Investigating Digital Media’s Supporting Role’, Digital Culture and Education, vol. 9(1), 31–47, accessed 20 May 2021

Music:

‘Fairy Flossin’ by Mona Wonderlick (CC BY 3.0)

‘Winner Bell Game Show’ by oldedgar (CC0 BY 1.0)

‘Lunar Walk’ by Monkey Phases (CC BY 4.0)

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page