top of page
mnsnibson01

Why I am loving my new Sony ZV-1 Video Camera.

If you are ever looking to purchase a new camera, for either vlogging, cinematography, basic photography or to even use as a webcam for your video meetings or streaming. In this blog post, I’ll be talking about how I came to fall in love with my new Sony ZV-1 Video Camera.

INTRODUCTION

For quite a while now, I had been looking for a new video camera. Previously, I had been using a DSLR camera which had served it’s purpose as I had previously been studying photography. However, particularly in the last year whilst doing a film and television course online I recognized that I needed an update as there was a couple of features that I felt like I was missing with that camera by which I desperately needed to take that next step in my video-creating endeavors.

During that year I created a new Youtube Channel by which, I wanted to incorporate my passions and love of gaming. During that time I noticed in particular the camera features that I needed that really would help me in my video-production processes.

So it was a couple of months in the making in deciding the camera that would best suits my needs. I came to a decision between two cameras which was either the Sony ZV-1 and the Sony A6400 Video Cameras, before then deciding to go with the Sony ZV-1 as it included some handy accessories like a RODE VideoCompact Microphone And Vlogging Grip.

TESTING OUT THE GADGET


My Youtube Video opening and testing out the Sony ZV-1 Video Camera.

Once I had opened opened out the Sony ZV-1 out of its box, it was a feeling of joy seeing a freshly new Camera in my hand and its light weight design I immediately noticed in comparison to my previous DLR model camera and with the Tripod grip it was a simply click to press record and zoom in-out-on using its Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T8 24-70mm f/1.8-2.8 equivalent lens. It’s flip out screen was also a really great feature which was super useful whilst I was testing out vlog-styled shots. But something I found that really impressed me was the clarity (noticed especially shooting in 4K resolution) of the footage when the camera is focused in on close by objects.

PROS AND CONS

In testing out and playing around with the camera, here is a list of the pros and cons regarding this camera through my observations:

PROS

  1. With a system software update available on the Sony website, you are able to use your Sony ZV-1 as a live webcam through as simple as using a USB cable (instead of a Micro-HDMI cable)

  2. Shoots in very great quality in 4K

  3. Great for those on a tighter budget for buying a good quality video camera

  4. Ease of use when vlogging

  5. Fantastic auto-focus performance

  6. Plenty of camera features available to improve your shooting

CONS

  1. Limited touch screen functionality

  2. Short battery life (recommended to buy a multi-battery charger with additional batteries.

  3. No 4K 60p

  4. Overheating issues (particularly when shooting in 4K) being that it is a smaller camera

  5. Settings/ Functions menu as be frustrating to deal with at times

CONCLUSION

Overall, I am very impressed with this camera and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a camera to create video content (vlogs especially) and do basic photography. Though this camera as its fair share of weaknesses, for the value you are getting from this camera it is worth it without a doubt. Personally, I find myself using it a lot for my streaming that a regulary do as it gives the audience a crisp video feed for them to look at.

Biblography

SLR Lounge. 2021. Sony ZV-1 Review | The Perfect Compact Vlogging Camera? Almost…. [online] Available at: <https://www.slrlounge.com/sony-zv-1-review-the-perfect-compact-vlogging-camera-almost/&gt; [Accessed 24 March 2021].

Photographyblog.com. 2021. Sony ZV-1 Review | Photography Blog. [online] Available at: <https://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_zv_1_review&gt; [Accessed 24 March 2021].

Youtube.com. 2021. SONY ZV-1 | Setup Guide for Filmmaking and Photography. [online] Available at: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YZ-0DBI2o0&gt; [Accessed 24 March 2021].

Sony. 2021. Sony Sony digital camera ZV-1. [online] Available at: <https://www.sony.com/electronics/cyber-shot-compact-cameras/zv-1&gt; [Accessed 24 March 2021].

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page